The Belt and Road News Network>>BRI News>>Latest News

Year-ender: 10 major BRI events in 2019 (7)   09:53, December 26, 2019

Number of pilot FTZs reaches 18

On Aug 30, six new pilot free trade zones (FTZs) of China were inaugurated, in a bid to press ahead with reform and opening-up.

The six new pilot FTZs are located in Shandong, Jiangsu, Guangxi, Hebei, Yunnan and Heilongjiang, bringing the total number of the country's pilot FTZs to 18.

FTZs serve as pioneers of the country's reform and opening-up as they test new styles of foreign investment management, trade facilitation and transformation of government functions to better integrate the economy with international practices.

China started piloting FTZs in Shanghai in 2013.